Police Brutality

Within the last year I have heard more stories about police brutality than I had in my whole life. I had heard of the Rodney King riots  and I thought to myself “that happened in the 90’s, how could that be in such a progressive era?” I thought racism was blatant. However, racism is still very alive and just because our water fountains don’t say “colored” or “white” doesn’t mean that we still drink with equality. It’s internalized in our brains and it’s become a part of our thought process that we become ignorant to it’s existence. The day we seize to associate “blackness with criminality” we will be one step closer to treating black citizens like human beings.

Leave a Reply

