Dear white people,

 

Dear white people,

 

I hate the system you benefit from. I by no means hate you. I hate your privilege and I hate that some refuse to admit to this privilege. You will never understand my struggle as a person of color nor will our struggles ever be the same. I am not the epitome of anything “Eurocentric” aside from my name. I do however, have to live in a world where white is non-criminal, heroic, beautiful and everything good. I have to accept the fact that all the things that pertain to “brown” are negative. I have to accept the fact I make less money than the white man and less than the white women. I have to accept the fact that the justice system will treat me a certain way because of the pigmentation of my skin. I have to accept the fact that as a women of color I have higher chances of being sexually assaulted. I have to accept that my people, the ones who do not benefit from racism are treated like second class citizens. I hate the system that has oppressed my people for centuries and refuses to give my people the same media attention as those who do not have our ethnic features. I hate the system that fails to adhere equality.

Leave a Reply

