For a brief Second

For a brief second it was like she was still here. As if she was still breathing and laughing next to me. As if I had another day to say thank you or I love you. As if God was letting me borrow an angel just for a little bit. When that brief second was over, I remembered all the things I didn’t say and all the things I wanted to say. I remembered that she was gone and with her went a bit of me. A part of me only she knew. It was as if she was whispering to let go but I was saying no. I was holding onto that brief second, the one that didn’t make me feel so alone.

Leave a Reply

